Guilty Pleasures

Fat has inspired me. She originally promised to write about the Spice Girls before she ended up writing about The Little Mermaid. I will steal her spark and write about the Spice Girls myself.

 I don’t particularly like the Spice Girls myself. But back when I was in secondary school, I sure did, particularly track number 7 on Spice: “Who do you Think you Are”. I’m sure Nat is smacking himself right now (Oh that Mister Ryan. I used to like him.) But if I’m not going to have genuine favorites, I have to at least admit to things I like.

I really like Austin Powers. I like to quote him. I like that the second movie really has all the same jokes as the first movie, but they last longer.

 I like Desperate Housewives. I like when the Edie character competes with the Susan character for the same man.

I am absolutely addicted to this simple block breaking game on my MotoRok’r hand phone.

But these are the silly things. What about the bizarre? I am addicted to typing information into airline websites. I know that Emirates airlines flies not only to Dubai from Singapore, but to Brisbane, Melbourne, and Auckland. I know if you fly Philippine Airlines from SG to Manila to Los Angeles, the plane has to stop on the island of Guam as well so it doesn’t run out of fuel.

In that same bizarre pattern, I’m obsessed with water drainage systems. One of my favorite vacation cities is Luang Prabang in Laos, and one of my favorite things about it are the beautiful brick water drainage units. I can watch water drains for long stretches of time, and one of my short scripts is about a Singaporean man who builds a boat so he can sail to work down a storm drain rather than sit in traffic.

Surely I’m not the only one. Tell me the things that make you bizarre. We can console each other knowing we’re not alone.

7 Responses to Guilty Pleasures

  1. lordnagrath says:

    Nah Mr Ryan you’re still great and a cool cool teacher haha, Hey man, last time when I was in primary school I used to like Backstreet Boys and N Sync man, but then came metal. I finally found the music that will stay with me for the rest of my life 😀

    I’m not afraid to admit I used to like those things in the past, I’m like one of the kindest, happiest, soft hearted metalheads out there!

  2. Keenan says:

    UGHBACKSTREETBOYS

    Cows. Cows are the win.

  3. D. says:

    I like arranging things around me in a circle.
    I check my alarm clock at least 5 times after setting it because i’m scared that I didnt set it.
    After using the tap at home, I walk in and out of the bathroom to ensure that my bathroom mats are aligned and that the taps are straight.

    Ok, maybe that doesnt make me bizzare. I think I might have a minor case of OCD.

    and yeah, i used to dig the Spice Girls but only because I wanted to appear cool in school.
    now, i’ve found my true love in classic rock and metal/progressive rock.

  4. happyfatty says:

    Swing it , shake it, move it, make it, Who do you think you are?
    Hahaha Mr Ryan I didn’t know you have a thing for Spice Girls too!
    Yey ^5! Heck those people who thinks that the Spice Girls are nothing but bitches *rolls eyes*

    I love Austin Powers too! I used to remember lines from that movie! Hahaha.
    I think my favourite would be Goldmember. Hahaha.

    In case you need to know, everything that runs in my brain is bizarre.
    So you don’t really have to worry mm’kay? *cross eyes*

  5. Diana says:

    I used to like Spice Girls. And i kinda of forgot all about them after a while except Victoria since she’s always in the papers .____.

    Desperate housewives season 1 was awesome. By the time it hit season 2, i was snoring away cause it’s kind of boring and draggy~

    And Austin Powers rock 8D GO MOJO!! /o/

  6. genieshanu says:

    I like all the above… including backstreet and Nsync…i still sing them…
    except austin powers.. i thought he was irritating. I really wish i could kick him.
    But i dont like desperate housewives as well. I find it very very scary that you can be married but you sleep around. I find it so damn evil that their poor husbands really trust them while they cheat behind their backs!!! I dont even like seeing those women for entertainment. Maybe because its bizzare to anyone from my culture :-s

    I do like watching water. I can watch it 4 a long long time. I have particular interest in looking at long narrow never ending paths…especially if there is water ..Maybe its a secret desire to run away far far away. I also like watching seas…and listening to the waves…making different sounds as it crash on the shores…

  7. genieshanu says:

    I like watching keenan rotate around me while he is talking on the fone. It seems like i am the sun and he is Planet earth.Its interest cause, when he recieves a call he rotates clockwise…when he makes a call he rotates anti clockwise…

Leave a comment